The Brumbies in 2013

I think it is fair to say that the Brumbies had a hell of year in 2012. The team proved everyone wrong and without doubt exceeded expectations, even my own, and it’s in saying this that it’s time to look towards 2013. After this years season the expectations on the boys performance in the 2013 season will be even bigger, which leads me to the whole point of writing this article, the Brumbies 2013 squad!

In 2011 we lost 13 of our players to other clubs, 2012 saw us lose just 8 (round of applause ladies and gentleman) with Cam Crawford and Michael Hooper going to the Tahs, Kimami Sitauti and Jono Owen to the Melbourne Rebels, Jerry Yanuyanutawa to London Irish, Anthony Hegarty and Ben Hand going to French club Grenoble, and Dylan Sigg released from his contract.

David Pocock offloads during Force game

David Pocock is a huge signing for 2013

Without a doubt our biggest signing for the year comes in the form of David Pocock, with the club signing the Wallabies captain on a three year deal. David will no doubt bring experience and leadership to the relatively young team and while there was a lot of talk when he first signed that he could be a possible captain in 2013, I hope the captaincy stays with Ben Mowen.

Mowen has shown outstanding leadership throughout the 2012 season and the boys seem to really respect him and follow his instructions on and off the field.

Clyde Rathbone is the comeback kid for not only the Brumbies, but also for Super Rugby next season. Clyde retired in 2009 after a persistant knee injury and earlier this year revealed his battle with depression. Since then he has made an amazing comeback and has proved to Jake that he can play for the team, and also keep up with the young players that fill the Brumbies squad. Clyde coming back is probably the best Brumbies news I heard this year and at 31, Clyde will bring so much experience to the team. He has signed a 1 year deal with the club.

Ruan Smith has signed for 3 years with the Brumbies and is coming from the Western Force. He replaces Jerry Yanuyanutawa, who has signed with London Irish, and also Scott Sio who has been upgraded to the top squad from the Extended Playing Squad. 

Jordan Smiler and Etienne Oosthuizen are our newest players to join the squad, and also have the least experience when it comes to Super Rugby. Jordan Smiler joins the Brumbies from Sydney team Northern Suburbs and has previously played in the ITM cup with Waikato. Smiler will replace Dylan Sigg in the squad.

Etienne Oosthuizen joins the Brumbies from recently relegated South African team the Lions, who are making way for the Southern Kings in next year’s competition. Oosthuizen has played 3 Super Rugby games with the Lions and at age 19, he should bring something really interesting to the team and hopefully something new. The forward will take the international spot once held by Henry Speight, who now is eligible to play for the Wallabies.

2013 Squad:

1.      Fotu Auelua.

2.      Ben Alexander.

3.      Sam Carter.

4.      Tom Cox.

5.      Robbie Coleman.

6.      Ruaidhri Murphy.

7.      Peter Kimlin.

8.      Christian Lealiifano.

9.      Pat McCabe.

10.   Stephen Moore.

11.   Dan Palmer.

12.   Siliva Siliva.

13.  Ben Mowen.

14.   Jesse Mogg.

15.   Andrew Smith.

16.   Henry Speight.

17.   Matt Toomua.

18.   Ita Vaea.

19.   Ian Prior.

20.   Joe Tomane.

21.   Tevita Kuridrani.

22.   Leon Power.

23.   Scott Sio.

24.   Zack Holmes.

25.   Scott Fardy.

26.   Colby Faingaa.

27.   Nic White.

28.   Ruan Smith. (NEW)

29.  David Pocock. (NEW)

30.  Clyde Rathbone. (NEW)

31.   Jordan Smiler. (NEW, Possibly in the Extended Players Squad)

32.  Etienne Oostuizen. (NEW, Possibly in the Extended Players Squad)

There are still two spots to be filled in the Extended Players Squad.



You Might Also Like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>